Antarctica Day is an international holiday recognizing the anniversary of the signing of the Antarctic Treaty in 1959. It is celebrated on December 1st each year. Along with Midwinter Day, it is one of Antarctica's two principal holidays. Celebrate Antarctica Day with us! A live event from the Dry Valleys of Antarctica was held with PolarTREC teacher Lucy Coleman. The presentation focused on the history of the Antarctica Treaty and how it relates to science conducted in Antarctica, in particular with the project Lucy is part of Microbial Interactions in Antarctic Lakes. This event took take place on 1 December 2022 and is now archived.

The flags of the original twelve signatory nations of the Antarctic Treaty fly at McMurdo Station's administrative building. McMurdo Station, Antarctica. Photo by Timothy R. Dwyer (PolarTREC 2016), Courtesy of ARCUS