Upcoming PolarConnect Event with Erin Towns

Team Sunshine House complete a successful day on the Western Greenland Ice Sheet.
Dates

Please join us for a PolarConnect event with teacher Erin Towns from Ilulissat, Greenland! This live event will happen on Tuesday, 10 May at 6 a.m. Alaska (7 a.m. Pacific, 8 a.m. Mountain, 9 a.m. Central, 10 a.m. Eastern). Erin is working on the Greenland Subglacial Tremor Project. You can read more about her experiences here. The event will last for one hour with a Q&A session at the end. Tell your friends, colleagues and family. This event is free and easy to join!

PolarTREC Teacher Heading to Greenland

The helicopter landed on a nanatak in Greenland
Dates
-

PolarTREC teacher Erin Towns is heading to Ilulissat, a coastal town in western Greenland, to work with a team of researchers from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution on the Greenland Subglacial Tremor Project. They will be in Greenland to learn more about the Greenland ice sheet, examining how increases in surface runoff will influence ice flow and subsequent loss of water mass from the Greenland ice sheet to the oceans. Ms. Towns will be sharing her experience through journals, photos, videos, and real-time webinars.

Upcoming Arctic Research Seminar featuring Denver Holt

Photo of a snowy owl with a lemming in it's mouth.
Dates

ARCUS invites registration for the next Arctic Research Seminar featuring Denver Holt, founder, and president of the Owl Research Institute. Denver’s presentation, titled “30 Years of Snowy Owl and Lemming Research at Utqiagvik, Alaska” will be held via Zoom on Thursday, 14 April 2022 at 9:00 a.m. AKDT (1:00 p.m. EDT). Registration is required for this event.

Now Archived! Two Live Events with Educator Sarah Johnson

Sarah Johnson, Founder of Wild Rose Education, PolarTREC educator.
Dates
-

Educator Sarah Johnson was part of two live events from Utqiaġvik while she is in the field with the International Arctic Buoy Program (IABP) team. On Tuesday, April 5th, she held a live PolarConnect Event (webinar) that can be viewed through the PolarConnect archives. Also, on Friday, April 1st, Sarah and the IABP team on KBRW (Top of the World radio) were interviewed. The interview can be heard at KBRW's website.

Celebrate the Equinox and Join International Polar Week!

Image created by artist showing the dates of International Polar Week, 20-26 March 2022.
Dates
-

APECS (Association of Early Career Polar Scientists) International Polar Week is coming! This week-long event is a celebration for everyone who has an interest in the coldest regions of our planet including a diverse and vibrant international community of students, researchers, teachers, artists, and members of Indigenous nations. This year it will be held on 20–26 March 2022. We hope that you can join in the fun!

The main goal of this event is to engage the global polar studies community to share knowledge, experience, and fun from different perspectives. APECS continues this great tradition through diverse activities such as photo contests, interviews with polar artists, researchers, and educators, participation in virtual polar games, the APECS podcast, and many more all around the world, thanks to their National Committees.

Visit this APECS webpage to learn more about the upcoming activities to celebrate the Poles with others around the world.

PolarConnect Event with Sarah Johnson

Sea ice sculptures in Utqiaġvik, Alaska. Photo by Frank Kelley.
Dates

Connect to a Live Science Event in the Arctic! Join us for an upcoming PolarConnect event with Sarah Johnson and the International Arctic Buoy Program Team (IABP) on Tuesday, 5 April at 7 am Alaska (8 am Pacific, 9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am Eastern). Sarah and the IABP team will be calling in from Utqiaġvik, Alaska. Tell your friends, colleagues and family. This event is free and easy to join!

First 2022 Arctic Expedition to Deploy in March

Land-fast sea ice is fastened along the shoreline in Barrow, Alaska
Dates
-

Educator Sarah Johnson will be packing her bags soon for her deployment in late March with the International Arctic Buoy Program. She will be traveling to Utqiaġvik, Alaska to work with the IABP team to deploy and maintain a network of drifting buoys in the Arctic Ocean that provide meteorological and oceanographic data for real-time operational requirements and research purposes. Visit the expedition page to learn more about her experiences in the field and to read her journals.

Applications Open for Onboard Outreach Officers

TOP JOIDES Resolution Expeditions
Dates
-

The application period is now open for Onboard Outreach Officers to sail on the JOIDES Resolution to share the science story with students, families, and the public. Applications will be accepted from classroom teachers, informal science educators, artists, videographers, writers, social media experts and more. Expeditions late in 2022 and 2023 are available. The deadline for applications is January 21, 2022.