Resource Type
Fast and Fun Fact

Antarctica is a continent but not a country. The land is managed under the Antarctic Treaty, originally signed in 1959 by the 12 countries involved in scientific studies on the continent at that time. It now includes 48 countries from around the world. The treaty ensures the freedom of scientific investigation and cooperation, prohibits military activities and mining, prohibits nuclear explosions and nuclear power, and protects the continent's natural environment.