Submitted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/31/2012 - 09:43

Hello Dan, my name is Maddalena, from Italy. I am a Science Teacher in the Italian High School, my subjects are Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry and Astronomy. Currently, I'm attending the new on-line course of polarTREC (summer edition, of course), and I'm very pleased to be involved in reading your journal. What a wonderful experience is your expedition! At the moment I've read just your first eight posts, but I've noticed your last contribute, related to "record at Mooring C". I'm very engaged and curious about the secrets of the graph. So I have some questions for you: 1- Is it possible to have the graph in high resolution? 2- The colors don't fit on the pc screen, for example the "gray" appears probably light blue, doesn't it? 3- Is the temperature anomaly on 12-13th July related to the weather conditions? for example clouds "blanket"? (do you hear my old brain circuits making screeching noise?). Say me only yes or no... I prefer to try again...

That's all for the moment, a huge "ciao" from Florence (37°C today...) Best wishes, Maddalena

Dan Frost

Hi Maddalena,Thanks for the inquiry! I've posted a higher resolution graph on the 'resources' section that should help with the colors etc.. The gray (hint here) BOR is right behind the TOR purple with only a bit showing as they are almost identical throughout the record. As for the temperature anomaly between the 12-13th of July I would categorize what we are seeing as based on a set of environmental conditions but not specifically cloud based blanketing. At your request, I will keep my response to a simple 'keep looking around..." : ). I can add another graph of instrumental data from outside the lake, that I may have mentioned earlier in a post, later if it may help...
Glad to have another curious person looking at the data!
Sincerely,
Dan

Anonymous