journal tabs

Journal
Dominique Richardson's picture

Update

The sun came out today and I spent a lot of time outside. It was beautiful and I didn’t want to go back inside the ship, but I figured when I couldn’t feel my face anymore it was time head in. We’ve done about three CTDs today (one was in the middle of the night) and gotten a lot more mapping in. Since it's getting later in the season and the ice is getting a lot thicker. It's getting harder to get to areas farther south to do more CTDs, even areas we were just at last week! Between all the science there was time to watch another round in the ship's ping pong tournament today and we also spent some time getting ready for the PolarConnect event! See you there! Sunny dayA sunny day over thick sea ice in East Antarctica.

Flags over Antarctica

The flags from the “Fly your Flag in Antarctica” contest have traveled over 8,000 miles from the United States through Australia to Antarctica where they were flown from the back deck of the R/V Nathaniel B. Palmer! Check out the winning flags flying in Antarctica!

1st place: Kindergarten-2nd Grade

K-2 winner collage1st place flag design for grades K-2nd. Design by Eduardo E., 1st grade.

1st Place: 3rd-5th Grade

3-5 flag winner1st place flag design for grades 3rd-5th. Design by Thomas V., 3rd grade.

1st Place: 6th-8th Grade

6-8 flag winner1st place flag design for grades 6th-8th. Design by Martin G., 6th grade

1st Place: High School - College

College flag winner1st place flag design for high school through college. Design by Chris B., college student.

1st Place: Adult

Adult flag winner1st place flag design for adults. Design by John S.

Congratulations again to the winners. They’ll receive their flag, flown in Antarctica, when we return from our research expedition!

This contest was generously sponsored by Cabrillo Marine Aquarium, a facility of the Recreation and Parks Departing of the City of Los Angeles, with support from FRIENDS of Cabrillo Marine Aquarium.

Chat with us live in Antarctica!

Don’t forget! Today is our PolarConnect Webinar on April 18th, 2015at 1pm Pacific DST [12pm Alaska DST; 2pm Mountain DST; 3pm Central DST; 4pm Easter DST]! http://www.polartrec.com/polar-connect/register

Comments

Add new comment

Annie Maben's picture

Annie Maben said:

Sorry I had to miss talking to you on Earth Day at Cabrillo! We miss you ai the Nursery...I was lading a bird walk for the guests - there has been a very rare Ruff sandpiper here for a couple of weeks. I loved your Antaectic Bird update the other day - keep the photos coming!
Dominique Richardson's picture

Dominique Richardson replied:

Hi Annie! Sorry you missed the webinar, but we'll put a recording of it up online soon! Glad you enjoyed the bird photos!