Deadline for Teacher Applications for 2018-19 PolarTREC Field Seasons

When: 
2 October 2017
Where: 

PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from teachers, informal science educators, and researchers for teacher research experiences.

For 2018-2019, we are accepting applications from both U.S. informal science educators as well as formal U.S. classroom teachers (teaching in grades 6-12). Informal educators should have the primary focus on outreach to middle and high school students and/or professional development for their teachers. Applications will be to participate in field research learning experiences during the 2018 (usually Arctic) or 2018-19 (usually Antarctic) field seasons.

Researchers that work in the polar regions are encouraged to submit an application to host a teacher and/or an informal science educator during the 2018-2019 field seasons.

More information about candidate criteria, application forms, researcher application questions, and program requirements for both teachers and researchers are available at the link above.

Informational Webinar:
Anyone that is interested in learning more about participating in PolarTREC are encouraged to attend an informational webinar on Wednesday, 30 August 2017 at 11:00 a.m. ADT (12:00 p.m. PDT, 1:00 p.m. MDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 3:00 p.m. EDT). The webinar will give an overview of the PolarTREC program, its goals and objectives, program components, the application process, and will address frequently asked questions. Register for the event. If you are unable to attend, you can view the event archive.

Funding:

PolarTREC is administered by ARCUS. Final selection for this round of applications is pending funding from the National Science Foundation. We will keep all applicants informed of our funding status.

Application deadline: Monday, 2 October 2017 at 5:00 p.m. ADT

Informational webinar date: Wednesday, 30 August 2017 at 11:00 a.m. ADT

Researchers interested in hosting a teacher should contact program staff as soon as possible at info [at] polartrec.com.

Additional information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and frequently asked questions, is available at on the PolarTREC website at:

https://www.polartrec.com

More information

https://www.polartrec.com/about/application